11.13.15 Day 6: The End– Hillary

So we got some “bad” news this morning. The overnight in the Aquarius habitat that we were supposed to have tomorrow night was cancelled because the wind is supposed to pick up to 20-25 knots, due to a cold front coming through. While I am disappointed that we will not get to sleep underwater tomorrow night, they did promise that we would be able to reschedule in the near future. That means that ALL of the teachers can be a part of the overnight! Andrea and Amy were not going to be able to sleep in the habitat tomorrow since Andrea had a prior engagement and Amy had to fly the next day. I am also excited about this because that means that I get to join Aquarius again soon!

I can’t believe this week is coming to an end. This has been the best week of my life. I have done things this week that I never thought were possible. The research that I have had the privilege of taking part in could be pivotal in saving our ocean. I have also learned what it takes in order to be a scientist, and let me say, scientists do not get enough credit. When the non-scientist (like me) usually hears about a scientific study, we hear about the results of some study and how they apply to our everyday lives. What we don’t hear about is the hours, days, weeks, and months of work that it takes to prepare, set up, and analyze data. The work is incredibly tedious, time consuming, and exhausting, however, these were some of my favorite experiences this week. I had so much fun with the science team, even when we were simply watching videos to see if a shark swam through. I got to see what it takes to create science, and in essence, what it takes to change the world. Without scientists like Andy, Alain, Frances, and Laura, we could literally lose our oceans. They are on the front lines, observing, researching, and analyzing the effects that humans have on our ocean’s predators and how that affects the fish in the ocean. This information is critical to our existence. Without the ocean, we are nothing.

I feel so incredibly blessed to be a part of this. I have made lifelong friends with people I would have never otherwise met. I have learned more about myself and what I am capable of. I have learned that science is so much more than an article about results of an experiment. Most of all, I have learned how important it is to show my students that anything is possible if you put your mind to it. I hope that I can be a role model for them and that they will remember this for years to come. I know that I will surely remember this experience for the rest of my life.blog6 blog61 blog62 blog63 blog64 bog65

Leave a Reply

